V.E. Lashkarev Institute of Semiconductor Physics, NAS of Ukraine

V.E. Lashkarev Institute of Semiconductor Physics, NAS of Ukraine (LISP NASU) was established in 1960 on the basis of departments and laboratories of the Institute of Physics of the Academy of Sciences of the Ukrainian SSR. V.E. Lashkaryov (1903-1974), Academician of the Academy of Sciences of UkrSSR, was the first Director of the Institute (1960 -1970). Researches and developments are being performed by eight scientific departments. These are as follows: Department of Theoretical Problems, Department of Photoelectronics, Department of Optoelectronics, Department of Semiconductor Optics, Department of Surface Physics and Nanophotonics, Department of Physical and Technological Problems in Semiconductor Infrared Engineering, Department of Technologies and Materials of Sensor Engineering, Department of Structural and Elemental Analysis of Semiconductor Materials and Systems. In the Institute 82 Doctors of Sciences (including 51 Professors) and 212 Candidates of Sciences work. A self-sustained Special Design &Technology Bureau with pilot production line (SDTB with PP line) works at the LISP NASU. The Institute actively applies new forms for organization of scientific researches and application of their results. Thus, there are the following organizations and departments working at the Institute:

  • Technological Park “Semiconductor Technologies and Materials, Optoelectronics and Sensor Engineering”;
  • Center for collective use of devices of NASU “Diagnostics of semiconductor materials, structures and device systems;
  • Testing laboratory of protective holographic elements;
  • Central  testing laboratory of semiconductor materials science (accreditation certificate of the All-Ukrainian State Research and Production Centre for Standardization);
  • Centre for testing photo-conversion devices and photovoltaic arrays;
  • Centre for testing and diagnosing semiconductor light sources and lighting systems based on these sources.

The Department of Functional Materials and Nanostructures (www.lab15.kiev.ua) (Now Department of Surface Physics and Nanophotonics).

Head of department – Prof. Alexei (Oleksiy) Nazarov.

Department was a pioneer in Former Soviet Union (FSU) countries in the modification of semiconductor materials and multilayer structures by laser annealing (LA), flash-lamp annealing (FLA), low-temperature RF plasma annealing (RFPA) and modification (RFPM). Moreover, this department last 15 years is strongly involved in research and development graphene based and 2D materials such as graphene oxide, MoS2, highly porous graphitic thin films for chemical sensing. The department develops low-temperature plasma reduction of graphene oxide films and plasma doping of MoS2 films deposited on different substrates by spray coating method. New method (magnetron plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition) of deposition highly porous graphitic (graphene-based) films was suggested and implemented. The porous graphene based films are a basis for photocatalytic nanocomposites (ZnO/graphene; MoS2/graphene; carbon nanodots/graphene). The department possesses technological equipment (such as RF plasma and DC magnetron sputtering) for the fabrication of graphene based thin films and dielectric structures, chemical lab and equipment for electrical and optical characterization. The department is a base for center for collective using of devices of NASU for electrical characterization of different materials and has strong cooperation with other laboratories for surface morphology (AFM, SKPM, STM), optical (Raman, PL) characterization, chemical and structural composition characterization (XPS, XRD, XRR).